Krasnoyarsk is one of the oldest and biggest of the Siberian cities, founded by the Cossacks\' comander Andrey Dubenskoy in 1628, and for 100 years Krasnoyarsk used to be the Russian frontier advanced post. During its existence it has never been conquered. When Siberia was finally joined to Russia in 1690 the fortress officially received the status of a town. The extension of the Great Siberian Post Road in 1735 stimulated further development of the town. The construction of the Trans-Siberian Railroad in 1895 turned it into a big industrial center. The city is situated on the banks of the deep water powerful Yenisey River that is a symbolic border between the Western and the Eastern Siberias. The city, with the current population around 1 million, stretches for 18 km along the left bank of Yenisey and for 25 km along the right one. The original symbol of Krasnoyarsk is a Chapel of the Saint Veil (Paraskeva Pyatnitsa) built in 1855 on top of the sentry hill that can be seen from everywhere in the city. The breathtaking panoramic view of Krasnoyarsk with its gold church cupolas and crosses surrounded by picturesque rocks covered with conifers can be enjoyed from this hill. In the past prisoners condemned to penal servitude or to exile were sent to this area - among them old believers, Decembrists, revolutionaries, art workers. The famous Russian artist Surikov, along with a number of other famous people, was born in the city.